Exploration B

I’m a fan of JK Rowling. And as such, I’ve seen a lot of fan art. Some of it good, but most of it bad. Which I guess is sort of the problem with the mass appeal of the series. (I admit it, I’m an elitist. So sue me!)

Recently, designer and illustrator MS Corely reimagined the covers to the entire Harry Potter book series, in sort of an homage to the style of classic Penguin book covers. Take a look…

MS Corley Harry Potter Redesign Book 1

MS Corley Harry Potter Redesign Book 2

MS Corley Harry Potter Redesign Book 3

MS Corley Harry Potter Redesign Book 4

MS Corley Harry Potter Redesign Book 5

MS Corley Harry Potter Redesign Book 6

MS Corley Harry Potter Redesign Book 7

Do you think, maybe, in the case of the later books, that the covers give too much of the plot away? Because I’m looking at them now, like with the time-turner… And I feel like maybe I could only love these covers having read the books first. If I saw these images before reading the books, I’d probably be disappointed. What do all of you readers — err…one of you, maybe, if I’m lucky — think about that?

It’s unfortunate that the copyright issues mean we can’t all buy prints of these. (Although why this applies to Harry Potter books and not to say, the movie poster redesigns featured on the brilliant Reelizer website, I have not a clue. Paging a copyright librarian! Help me understand the difference!)

MS Corley Harry Potter Redesign Art Prints (Discontinued Due To Copyright)

MS Corley Illustration & Design Logo

And finally, if you’re curious… MS Corley has also worked his magic on other popular book series, including the Spiderwick Chronicles and the works of Lemony Snicket. Check it out.

This entry was posted in Fearless Friday, Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

