Careless Whispers

If you haven’t already, please check out my Veteran’s Day review of Design For Victory: World War II Posters On The American Home Front by William L. Bird, Jr. and Harry R. Rubenstein. Please to enjoy some of my favorite posters from that collection and beyond…

 

WW2 Poster Norman Rockwell Freedom From Want

 

WW2 Poster Grow Your Own Can Your Own

 

WW2 Poster Pearl Harbor Purl Harder

WW2 Poster Ladies Armed Services Recruiting

 

WW2 Poster He Volunteered For Submarine Service

 

WW2 Poster We're Fighting To Prevent This

 

WW2 Poster A Careless Word A Needless Loss

 

WW2 Poster Because Somebody Talked

 

WW2 Poster Don't Kill Her Daddy With Careless Talk

 

WW2 Poster Dear God Keep Them Safe

 

WW2 Poster I'm Proud My Husband Wants Me To Do My Part

 

WW2 Poster Rosie The Riveter

 

WW2 Poster When You Ride Alone You Ride With Hitler

 

WW2 Poster He's Watching You

This entry was posted in Book Review, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Careless Whispers

  1. LittleBig says:

    How much do I love the Purl Harder poster?! OMG.

    And I’m pretty sure the dude in the last one is Darth Vader.

    • Mollie Katie says:

      Right?! I love that knitting is back as a trend. I’m terrible at it, but so sentimental for the afghans that my Grandmother knitted for me. Also crocheting!

      And yes, so Darth Vader. I’m pretty sure George Lucas cited Nazi propaganda imagery as design inspiration in an interview I read long ago.

  2. Sarah says:

    PURL HARDER!!!
    As a knitter, I love it.

  3. Houston says:

    It is amazing to look back and see how America pulled together during the war. When adversity strikes I am always proud of how we set aside our differences and immediately all pull together as AMERICANS. I only wish we could always remember to do that. We’re all in this together.

    MK, thanks for posting this. I hope you and your family have a blessed Thanksgiving and know that my family sends its love your way.

    H

    • Sarah says:

      I agree with the awesomeness of Americans pulling together during WWII, but we also put thousands of Japanese-Americans in internment camps. We set aside our differences by kicking the “different” people out…not something I’m particularly proud of. That said, I wish we could generate a similar sort of unifying sentiment in this country nowadays. You know, without taking people’s homes and businesses and shoving them into camps.

      • Mollie Katie says:

        Excellent point. I wasn’t even thinking about the legacy of Japanese internment camps in the US. I love my country, but that’s such a disturbing black mark on our history. 😦

Leave a Reply

