Peer Pressure Please!

Peer pressure me, won’t you? It’s not negative if I request it, right?

On Friday, I met with my second-opinion back surgeon and he turned me down. If you’ve been following that particular story on Twitter, well, you know that I re-injured my back in February of this year and had to drop out of school…twice. The original injury to L5S1 happened in August 2006 while I was moving book cases (I know, right?!) and I missed the 2006-2007 school year as a result, but I got back to being pain-free through a combination of medication (pain meds of every stripe and muscle relaxers), IV lidocaine treatments (in the dentist’s novocaine family but stronger), and physical therapy. But this time around, none of those treatments — plus epidurals (OH GOD NEVER AGAIN), trigger point injections, and Swedish massage — are working. Or if they are working, the pain relief is partial and the effects only last a week at most. It’s incredibly depressing. I just did a session of reiki with an amethyst biomat and it helped…but I’m not sure enough that it would be worth it to keep spending my money on. It’s incredibly depressing, and this book blog project was partially borne out of a desire to keep myself busy. To keep myself engaged with the world. So…hi.

My goal is to work up to the point where I’m blogging every day about something, anything, even if it’s only tangentially related to books (ex. movies that were adapted from books). And that’s where you come in, dear reader. I thought theme days might help, like a prompt works for writer’s block. Maybe alliteration with days of the week? I stole Top Ten Tuesday and Wordless Wednesday from around the blogosphere. I thought about Sexy Saturday but I have no idea what that could be about. Authors I have a crush on? Because I would run out of those inside a month. And I wanted to have a day where I take questions or share something about myself so readers get to know me better and vice versa…perhaps I’ll call it Mailbox Monday? If there’s enough interest, that is.

Confession: I can’t come up with an alliteration for Thursday that doesn’t sound like I’m making fun of Asian-accented English. Subsequent Confession: I’m picturing Andy Rooney’s character in Breakfast At Tiffany’s and laughing. Add this to the long list of things I am going to Hell for. *sigh*

Suggestions? I could really use some help on this one.

This entry was posted in Luddite Dance Party and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Peer Pressure Please!

  1. MarcyAlisa says:

    I’m stealing this alliteration for Thursday from the web as well… Thirsty Thursday… as in a Thirst for Knowledge… the desire to drink in a good book, a good storyline, a good plot, a good author… Quench your thirst with a guilty pleasure such as a romance novel, or romantic comedy…

    Hope this helps a little…

  2. Stickeenotes says:

    Manic Mondays: ?
    Thirty-something Thursdays: Books by or about thirty-somethings?
    Free for all Friday: Whatever you want?
    Silly Saturdays: Funny, uplifting and otherwise silly books?
    Sad Sack Sunday: Depressing books?

    • Mollie Katie says:

      I don’t have the desire to stalk authors (even eligible 30-something bachelors) so I know how old they are. I try to keep my creeper status to a minimum. Stop trying to get me restraining orders!

      The weekend dichotomy I like. Used the silliness last weekend and I have the perfect book for Saturday. I’m just wary of Sunday because I don’t like depressing stuff. I can only think of one sad-ending book that I really liked: AN ARSONIST’S GUIDE TO WRITERS’ HOMES IN NEW ENGLAND by Brock Clarke. I have his new one, EXLEY, in my To Be Read (TBR) pile right now. I haven’t read his short stories so I’m not sure if that’s his usual though. We shall see.

  3. LittleBig says:

    There’s always Plinky if you get stuck. They regularly post writing prompts for bloggers.

  4. Jelly says:

    Obviously alliteration offers occasional obstacles….

    Yeah. I got nothing.

    Love you though!

  5. Sarah says:

    Sweet Sundays (or Saturdays): Things that make you go “Awwww….”
    Feel Good Fridays: Soul food reading that always makes you feel good
    Thinking/Thoughtful Thursdays: Things that leave you thinking for hours

    Just a few ideas…

    • Mollie Katie says:

      Sarah! You need to post on LiveJournal again, you lurker. It makes it so much harder to stalk you when I don’t know what you’re up to! *hugs* And great minds must think alike, because I pretty much finalized (still not sure on the weekends because I have a few I like…I might just rotate them as I see fit) my alliteration days-of-the-week topics yesterday and Thoughtful Thursday made the cut! I’m working on that post right now.

Leave a Reply

